SLOW DOWN AND WAIT

12/5/2017

 Dear Friends in Christ:

Blessed are you, O Lord our God, ruler of the universe.

You call all nations to walk in your light

And to seek your ways of justice and peace,

For the night is past, and the dawn of your coming is near.

Bless us as we light the first candle of this wreath.

Rouse us from sleep,

That we may be ready to greet our Lord when he comes

And welcome him into our hearts and homes,

For he is our light and our salvation.

Amen.

‚Äč

Advent is a season of waiting. We mark the passage of time as we light the Advent wreath, open the Advent calendar, and wait for Christmas and the light to appear.

Our society urges us to hurry and spend, while scripture and tradition beckons us to slow down and wait. We are tempted to rush and hurry, but in our church calendar Advent reminds us to slow down and to lean together. The darkness is all around us in the short days and long nights. In ancient times, people spent more time in doors, waiting for the return of the light. Advent reminds us of the rhythms of life. Advent invites us to open scripture and read of Mary and the promise of God to continue the reign of David.  Mary was an unlikely heroine, yet God invites her into the salvation story. Just as God invites you into a deeper faith journey.


Below you will find Daily Bible readings for Advent and Christmas (pg 24 Sundays and Seasons), slow down, open your bible and read the stories of Advent and waiting. You may experience a more sacred season, as you slow down, read scripture and enter God's salvation story.


Pastor Cliff



Week 1

Sun. Dec. 3 Isaiah 64:1-9

Mon. Dec. 4 Psalm 80:1-7

Tues. Dec. 5 1 Corinthians 1:3-9

Wed. Dec. 6 Mark 13:24-37

Thur. Dec. 7 Psalm 85:8-13

Fri. Dec. 8 Jeremiah 1:4-10

Sat. Dec. 9 Ezekiel 36:24-28


Week 2

Sun. Dec. 10 Mark 1:1-8

Mon. Dec. 11 Isaiah 40:1-11

Tues. Dec. 12 Psalm 27

Wed. Dec. 13 Luke 1:5-17

Thur. Dec. 14 Habakkuk 2:1-4

Fri. Dec. 15 Philippians 3:12-16

Sat. Dec. 16 John 1:6-8, 19-28


Week 3

Sun. Dec. 17 Isaiah 61:1-4, 8-11

Mon. Dec. 18 Psalm 126

Tues. Dec. 19 1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Wed. Dec. 20 Psalm 89:1-4, 19-26

Thur. Dec. 21 Luke 1:26-38

Fri. Dec. 22 Luke 1:39-45

Sat. Dec. 23 Luke 1:46-55



Week 4

Sun. Dec. 24 Luke 2:1-20

Mon. Dec. 25 John 1:1-14

Tues. Dec. 26 Psalm 148

Wed. Dec. 27 1 John 1:1-9

Thur. Dec. 28 Jeremiah 31:15-17

Fri. Dec. 29 Isaiah 49:5-15

Sat. Dec. 30 Psalm 148


Week 5

Sun. Dec. 31 Isaiah 61:1-10-62:3

Mon. Jan. 1 Galatians 4:4-7

Tues. Jan. 2 Luke 2:22-40

Wed. Jan. 3 Psalm 110

Thur. Jan. 4 Isaiah 60:1-6

Fri. Jan. 5 Psalm 72:1-7, 10-14

Sat. Jan. 6 Matthew 2:1-12